GROUNDWORK. / Ownership

Ownership record / electrical

Powell Electric

DocumentedSouthern California

The recorded finding

Champions Group Holdings

The sources support the recorded relationships below, subject to their dates and stated scope. The precise legal ownership chain and percentages may remain undisclosed.

Reported controller / sponsor
Blackstone-managed BXPE funds; Odyssey and management retain minority investment
Interest recorded
Platform acquisition documented; sponsor transfer completed. Individual operating-company equity percentage is not disclosed.
Record date
2026-10-23
Oldest observation in the displayed chain
2026-10-22

Founded in 1971. Champions says Powell retains its name following the acquisition. Jason Powell is identified as president and general manager; that title is not proof of an equity interest. The February Blackstone announcement does not by itself establish closing. October 23 correction: HarbourVest’s first-party fund report confirms the sponsor sale completed. The separate operating-brand evidence dates are unchanged.

Ownership sources: US-S002 S024 US-S015. An observation date is not a guarantee that ownership remains unchanged today.

01 / Relationship map

Follow each connection.

4 links
Recorded relationships for Powell ElectricPowell Electric Acquired by Champions Group Holdings, current. Champions Group Holdings Acquired by Blackstone, current. Champions Group Holdings Minority investment from Odyssey Investment Partners, currentAcquired byAcquired byMinority investment fromPowell ElectricBrand · US002Champions Group HoldingsPlatform · N013BlackstoneSponsor · N015Odyssey Investment PartnersSponsor · N014
Control / identityOperating / portfolioFranchise / minorityUnconfirmed / past
3 links · read sources & relationship details
  1. Powell Electric acquired by Champions Group Holdings

    current · acquisition; equity percentage not disclosed · Observed 2026-10-22 US-S002

    Date is the public announcement date, not an independently established legal close date.

  2. Champions Group Holdings acquired by Blackstone

    current · control acquisition through BXPE funds; existing shareholders collectively retain 30% · Observed 2026-10-23 S024 US-S015

    The investor fund report confirms completion in February 2026 without an exact closing day. The control start is month precision; the separate transaction preserves the February 17 announcement date.

  3. Champions Group Holdings minority investment from Odyssey Investment Partners

    current · retained minority; Odyssey’s individual percentage not disclosed · Observed 2026-10-23 S024 US-S015

    The buyer announcement identifies Odyssey and management as retaining minority stakes; the subsequent fund report confirms closing and a collective 30% retained by existing shareholders. Do not allocate the 30% solely to Odyssey.

Historical and additional links appear in the complete relationship ledger below.

Complete relationship ledger, including historical links

Champions Group Holdings portfolio company of Odyssey Investment Partners

historical · former lead sponsor; minority rollover recorded separately

Lead sponsor role ended in February 2026 according to the investor realization report; exact close day is unknown. Odyssey’s retained minority interest is separate from former control.

Start unknown · End 2026-02 · Observed 2026-10-23 · R016 S023 S024 US-S015

Champions Group Holdings acquired by Blackstone

current · control acquisition through BXPE funds; existing shareholders collectively retain 30%

The investor fund report confirms completion in February 2026 without an exact closing day. The control start is month precision; the separate transaction preserves the February 17 announcement date.

Start 2026-02 · End not stated · Observed 2026-10-23 · R017 S024 US-S015

Powell Electric acquired by Champions Group Holdings

current · acquisition; equity percentage not disclosed

Date is the public announcement date, not an independently established legal close date.

Start 2026-08-07 · End not stated · Observed 2026-10-22 · US-R002 US-S002

Champions Group Holdings minority investment from Odyssey Investment Partners

current · retained minority; Odyssey’s individual percentage not disclosed

The buyer announcement identifies Odyssey and management as retaining minority stakes; the subsequent fund report confirms closing and a collective 30% retained by existing shareholders. Do not allocate the 30% solely to Odyssey.

Start 2026-02 · End not stated · Observed 2026-10-23 · US-R013 S024 US-S015

02 / Transactions & changes

How the record got here.

Announcements and legal closing dates are separate. Transactions involving a franchise system need not change the local franchisee’s ownership.

  1. 2026-08-07

    closed / acquisition

    Powell Electric

    Buyer: Champions Group Holdings

    Powell Electric retains its consumer brand within Champions Group.

    Announcement
    2026-08-07
    Legal closing
    Separate close date not established
    Interest
    not disclosed

    Announcement describes the business following the acquisition; separate legal close date not stated. US-S002

  2. 2026-02-17

    closed / control acquisition

    Champions Group Holdings

    Buyer: Blackstone

    Blackstone-managed BXPE funds become controlling sponsor; Odyssey and management retain minority interests.

    Announcement
    2026-02-17
    Legal closing
    February 2026 (month precision; exact day not established)
    Interest
    control; 30% collectively retained by existing shareholders

    Completed in February 2026 according to the March-period investor report. Exact closing day is unknown, so close_date remains blank. The original February 17 announcement date is preserved; retained percentages by individual shareholder are unknown. S024 US-S015

03 / Research limits

What remains open.

US-U003 / medium priority

What was the exact legal close date and how was the collective 30% retained stake divided among existing shareholders?

Completed sponsor transfer documented; February 2026 precision only, with individual retained interests unknown.

Needed: Closing documentation or explicit shareholder-level disclosures. · Recorded 2026-10-23

Contribute a dated source or correction

04 / Evidence ledger

4 public sources.

Source grades describe evidence quality, not ownership probabilities. Sources sharing a publisher group are not independent corroboration.

US-S002A / primary

Champions Group Expands Southern California Footprint with Acquisition of Powell Electric

Champions Group Holdings · transaction announcement · Publisher group: champions

Published 2026-08-07 · Observed 2026-10-22

Acquisition of Powell Electric; retained brand; Southern California operations

Reviewed the announcement text on October 22. The announcement says following the acquisition; a separate close date and ownership percentage are not given.

US-S015A / primary

HarbourVest Private Investments Fund — March 2026 Report

HarbourVest · investor fund report · Publisher group: harbourvest

Published date not stated · Observed 2026-10-23

Completed Champions Group sale from Odyssey to Blackstone BXPE; February 2026 realization; existing shareholders collectively retained 30%.

Report period is March 31, 2026; a distinct publication date is not established. Printed pages 3 and 5 (PDF pages 3 and 5). Exact closing day and allocation of the collective retained stake are not disclosed.

Compare ownership / up to 3 brands

Different names. Same owner?