What does each UT college require for internal transfer?
UT’s next internal-transfer deadline is December 1, 2026, for spring entry. Only eight colleges take spring transfers, and Cockrell takes them only from current Engineering students. Natural Sciences, Architecture, and four others take fall entry only, with applications due May 1.
In this guide
What does my destination require?
Start with the row for your destination, then open its official page. The university calls its dates estimates, and a college may limit the majors offered in a cycle. “Not stated” means the linked UT page didn’t publish that item when we checked; it isn’t a waiver. Every application requires a resume, and every selected major requires a personal statement; the “Extra steps” column lists what the destination adds.
Scroll the table to compare every column.
| College or school | Entry terms | Application window | Minimum UT GPA | UT residence | Required courses | Extra steps | Official page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Architecture | Fall; second-year option starts in summer | About Feb. 1–May 1 | 3.25 | 24 hours by end of spring | None for first-year option; second-year Architecture: PHY 302K/102M or PHY 303K/103M, and M 408C or M 408K | Canvas course; 2 short answers; photo; 2 UT faculty recommendations | Architecture |
| McCombs Business | Fall and spring | Feb. 1–May 1; Sept. 15–Dec. 1 | 3.25 | 24 hours | Calculus I and II; ECO 304K and 304L; RHE 306 | Personal statement; optional response; info session recommended | McCombs |
| School of Civic Leadership | Fall | Feb. 1–May 1 | 3.25 | 24 hours by end of spring; no more than 45 total hours | Not stated | Personal statement; Prospective Students Info Session required | Civic Leadership |
| Moody Communication | Fall and spring | Feb. 1–May 1; Sept. 15–Dec. 1 | 2.00 UT and Communication GPAs to change major; 2.75 to add a second major | No more than 60 hours; before end of fourth long semester | ADV 318J with B or better for Advertising or Public Relations | Personal statement; optional essay; self-paced info session recommended | Moody |
| Education | Fall and spring | Feb. 1–May 1; Sept. 15–Dec. 1 | Varies by major; 2.50 for Exercise Science and Health Promotion and Behavioral Science | Not stated | Varies by major | Personal statement; Internal Transfer Session required | Education |
| Cockrell Engineering | Fall; spring only for current Engineering students | Feb. 1–May 1; Sept. 15–Dec. 1 for eligible current Engineering students | 3.00 cumulative and technical | Not stated | In-residence calculus and other technical courses | 500-word essay | Cockrell |
| Fine Arts | Fall; Music application is in fall | Feb. 1–May 1; Music opens in fall and closes Dec. 1 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Portfolio, creative prompt, video, audition, or interview, by program; Music info session required | Fine Arts |
| Jackson Geosciences | Fall and spring | Feb. 1–May 1; Sept. 15–Dec. 1 | 2.00; 2.50 recommended | Full-time; no more than 60 hours; within first 4 long semesters | Varies: math plus geology or related course; some applicants need Calculus II and chemistry or physics | Personal statement | Jackson |
| School of Information | Fall | Mid-to-late Jan.–May 1 | None stated; 3.00 suggested | 24–45 hours; second, third, or fourth long semester | Not stated | Info session before applying; required essay | Information |
| Liberal Arts, including Economics | Fall and spring; summer for open majors | Feb. 1–May 1; Sept. 15–Dec. 1; mid-to-late June–early August for summer open majors | No college minimum | Open-major undeclared route unavailable after 60 hours or 4 long semesters | Restricted majors, including Economics, set their own requirements | Personal statement; restricted-major steps vary | Liberal Arts |
| Natural Sciences (CNS) | Fall | Feb. 1–May 1 | 3.00 | At least 24 hours; fewer than 90 hours | 1 approved math and 2 approved science courses | Resume; personal statement; optional info session | Natural Sciences |
| Nursing | Fall and spring | Feb. 1–May 1; Sept. 15–Dec. 1 | None stated; 3.00 UT and science GPAs preferred | 24 credit hours; UT residence preferred | CH 301, SDS 302, and BIO 311C with C− or better; foreign-language proficiency | Essay; resume | Nursing |
| LBJ Public Affairs | Fall | Feb. 1–May 1 | None stated; 3.00 strongly encouraged | 24–60 hours by end of spring; within first 4 long semesters | Not stated | Required Canvas info session; second essay | LBJ |
| Social Work | Fall and spring | Mid-January–May 1; mid-September–Dec. 1 | 2.00 | At least 12 hours | S W 310 with C or better; C or better in other Social Work courses | Personal statement; advisor meeting before applying | Social Work |
Terms and general windows come from Texas One Stop. College pages control the details. Requirements can differ by major.
Which university-wide rules apply?
You may choose no more than two majors in one application cycle. For a college or school with limited internal-transfer space, UT permits two applications to that college or school, and you must apply within your first four fall or spring semesters.
You may not transfer after 60 semester hours completed in residence or after four fall or spring semesters in residence. You may petition the receiving dean for an exception. If you have more than 45 college credit hours, the university minimum is a 2.00 UT GPA. A destination may set a higher standard. Read the catalog rule and the current application instructions together.
What should I register for while I wait?
Register for a normal schedule that advances your current degree. Add destination prerequisites only when you meet their enrollment rules and the courses also fit a workable plan if you stay in your current major. McCombs specifically tells applicants to register as though they are not applying.
Use the step-by-step change-major guide for the portal, decision, and major-change form. If you’re applying to McCombs, the McCombs internal-transfer guide explains its prerequisites in more detail.
If your destination takes fall entry only, the date that matters is May 1. Build a spring schedule that works either way.
How we got this
We checked Texas One Stop, the university catalog, and every linked college or school page on October 29, 2026. The table repeats only requirements those official pages state; missing items say “Not stated.” This is an independent undergraduate guide, not an admission decision.
Sources and dates
- University process, dates, limits, and participating colleges2026-10-29
- University transfer rule2026-10-29
- architecture requirements2026-10-29
- business requirements2026-10-29
- civic requirements2026-10-29
- communication requirements2026-10-29
- education requirements2026-10-29
- engineering requirements2026-10-29
- fine arts requirements2026-10-29
- geosciences requirements2026-10-29
- information requirements2026-10-29
- liberal arts requirements2026-10-29
- natural sciences requirements2026-10-29
- nursing requirements2026-10-29
- lbj requirements2026-10-29
- social work requirements2026-10-29