GROUNDWORK. / Ownership

Ownership record / foundation repair · waterproofing

Groundworks

DocumentedAustin metro

The recorded finding

Groundworks Companies, LLC

The sources support the recorded relationships below, subject to their dates and stated scope. The precise legal ownership chain and percentages may remain undisclosed.

Reported controller / sponsor
KKR; Cortec retains minority positions
Interest recorded
KKR controlling/majority; Cortec minority
Record date
2026-07-26
Oldest observation in the displayed chain
2026-07-26

Ownership sources: S049 S050. An observation date is not a guarantee that ownership remains unchanged today.

01 / Relationship map

Follow each connection.

3 links
Recorded relationships for GroundworksGroundworks Operated by Groundworks Companies, LLC, current. Groundworks Companies, LLC Majority owned by KKR, current. Groundworks Companies, LLC Minority investment from Cortec Group, currentOperated byMajority owned byMinority investment fromGroundworksBrand · B042Groundworks Companies, LLCPlatform · N039KKRSponsor · N025Cortec GroupSponsor · N020
Control / identityOperating / portfolioFranchise / minorityUnconfirmed / past
3 links · read sources & relationship details
  1. Groundworks operated by Groundworks Companies, LLC

    current · unspecified · Observed 2026-07-26 S048 S049

    Austin service is delivered by the Groundworks platform.

  2. Groundworks Companies, LLC majority owned by KKR

    current · majority/control · Observed 2026-07-26 S049 S050

    KKR became controlling/majority investor in March 2023.

  3. Groundworks Companies, LLC minority investment from Cortec Group

    current · minority · Observed 2026-07-26 S049 S050

    Cortec retained minority positions after exiting majority control.

Complete relationship ledger, including historical links

Groundworks Companies, LLC majority owned by KKR

current · majority/control

KKR became controlling/majority investor in March 2023.

Start 2023-03 · End not stated · Observed 2026-07-26 · R050 S049 S050

02 / Transactions & changes

How the record got here.

Announcements and legal closing dates are separate. Transactions involving a franchise system need not change the local franchisee’s ownership.

  1. 2023-03

    closed / majority investment / recapitalization

    Groundworks

    Buyer: KKR

    KKR is current controller; Cortec remains a minority investor.

    Announcement
    2023-03
    Legal closing
    2023-03
    Interest
    KKR control; Cortec retained minority

    S049 S050

03 / Research limits

What remains open.

No company-specific question is open in this release. Exact legal entities, ownership percentages and subsequent changes may still be undisclosed.

Contribute a dated source or correction

04 / Evidence ledger

3 public sources.

Source grades describe evidence quality, not ownership probabilities. Sources sharing a publisher group are not independent corroboration.

S049A / primary

KKR Makes Significant Investment in Groundworks

Groundworks / KKR · transaction announcement · Publisher group: groundworks_kkr_release

Published 2023-03 · Observed 2026-07-26

KKR control/significant investment; Cortec remained shareholder

S050A / primary

Cortec Groundworks Investment History

Cortec Group · portfolio history · Publisher group: cortec

Published 2026-05 · Observed 2026-07-26

Cortec exited majority in March 2023 and retained minority positions

S048A / primary

Groundworks Austin

Groundworks · current service-area page · Publisher group: groundworks

Published date not stated · Observed 2026-07-26

Current Austin service from San Antonio-area office

Compare ownership / up to 3 brands

Different names. Same owner?